When I was 16 years old I started watching Law&Order:Special Victims Unit and absolutely fell in love with it. I have to say one of the best shows on t.v. I learned a lot because of that show. The statistics are heartbreaking. To know every 60 seconds a women in america is sexually assaulted and not even half of these women get justice. Mariska Hargitay who has played Detective Olivia Benson on SVU for 15 seasons has proven to the world that she was more then just an actress and had more to offer the world then just talent and a pretty face. In 2004 she started The Joyful Heart Foundation to help survivors of sexual assault. Her foundation has helped thousands of rape survivors.  She is my idol my inspiration to do better to help someone to make a difference. I just hope to become half the person she is. She changed the world and opened my eyes and taught me to educate myself on the subject and what I’ve learned is heartbreaking. 

Leave a Reply

